What are your favorite books that have helped most in developing your craft?

StoryShop Forums Sharpening Your Craft Craft What are your favorite books that have helped most in developing your craft?

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by Kasey Kasey 2 months, 3 weeks ago.

Kasey
    Participant
    Some writers love Stephen King’s On Writing or Joseph Campbell’s The Hero with a Thousand Faces. I personally really like Writing Tools: 55 Essential Strategies for Every Writer by Roy Peter Clark. I’m an editor and grammar nerd so I tend to enjoy books on style and usage. I’m also looking forward to reading The Smarter Artist Locker by Sean Platt & Johnny B. Truant (pre-order on Amazon). What books have inspired you to be a better writer or have taught you the tools you need to further your craft?
  • Replies
    Ninie Hammon
    Participant
    I’m On Writing all the way. I have a quote from it about writing every day, the one that goes: “If I don’t write every day, the characters begin to stale off in my mind…” printed out and stuck to my bulletin board for inspiration. Stephen King is for macro-writing, I think. For micro-writing, I like James Scott Bell’s The Last Fifty Pages and the whole Write Great Fiction series: Plot & Structure, Description & Setting, etc.
    Kasey
    Kasey
    Participant
    That’s a great quote to have stuck to your bulletin board Ninie! I’ll have to check out your other recommendations.
    Sophia Uhlenhoff
    Participant
    On Writing is great!

A book that’s really helped me is The Irresistible Novel by Jeff Gerke. It’s focused on writing engaging stories and helped me take the next step towards writing more movie-like prose.

Another one I enjoyed is How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy by Orson Scott Card. It talked a lot about good genre fiction practices, such as giving the otherness of your world a price, making good villains, crafting meaningful endings, things like that.