Course #5: Characters

Getting to Know Your Characters

There is a lot to be done before you start writing your story. Whatever your process or style, the is course will lead you through the steps of preparing yourself to crank out the genius without less slip ups and creative roadblocks. StoryShop Savy, with the help of some of her writer friends, will lead you through the next dozen hours of lessons and exercises. Sign up for your free StoryShop account to access your workbook and follow the rabbit hole as deep as you choose. The adventure has just begun.

Your Creative Guide for this course will be StoryShop Savy in all her bubbly glory. The content has been compiled from several of our favorite writers including:

  • Johnny B. Truant
  • Sean Platt
  • David Mark Brown

Sign up to start

Create your free account for all access!


  • POV, Person, Tense

  • Audience

  • Style & Voice

  • Choose a Genre: Intro. to Genre Therapy

  • Genre Rules (and how to break them)

Join the Discussion on the Characters Forum

No results found.

Getting Started5

Beats Templates are pre-filled beats bars that contain tips and tricks for writing typical story arcs.

Drag the scene from the beats bar toward the bottom center of the screen and drop it into the garbage can. Confirm that you want to delete it. This is permanent and cannot be undone. You can also delete a scene by clicking on the three dots in the corner of the scene in expanded Beats Mode.

Drag the card from the world bar toward the bottom center of the screen and drop it into the garbage can. Confirm that you want to delete it. This is permanent and cannot be undone.

Go to your dashboard. Click on the three dots in the upper right corner of the book. Scroll to the bottom of the book card. Select Delete. Confirm that you want to delete your book. This is permanent and cannot be undone.

Go to your dashboard. Sort by worlds. Click on the three dots in the upper right corner of the world. Scroll to the bottom of the world card. Select "Delete World" and confirm. This is permanent and cannot be undone.

Troubleshooting2

Try clearing your cache. Occasionally StoryShop updates and web browser updates don't communicate properly. Clearing your cache can clear up the miscommunication.

I am so sorry you accidentally deleted something. This cannot be undone.

Know Your Book4

Collaboration3

Go to your dashboard. Sort by worlds. Click on the three dots on the upper right corner of the world and scroll to the bottom of the card. Add collaborator. Choose their permission levels. Hit save. They will be added to your world. If they do not already have a StoryShop account, have them sign up for one before sending them an invite.

Go to your dashboard. Select world view. Click the three dots in the upper right corner of the world you want to remove them from. Scroll to the bottom of the world card and remove them from the world. Hit save.

Yes. You can add a Lite user to your world as long as you are a Pro user.